Ice Hockey Rules

Any sport played on earth has sets of rules to be followed. These rules protect the players involved, create uniformity and order and also prevents the game from being corrupted by internal as well as external forces. Ice hockey also has its own set of rules. These rules date back to 1875 in Montreal where the first organised indoor match took place. In 1917 the league further adapted the rules, and these are the rules that still stand today, with the exception of one or two rules that have been changed a bit to make allowance for certain changes in the game.

These Are Some of the Rules in the NHL

  • Teams are allowed 18 seconds of stoppage time to substitute a player. The stoppage time is only extended to 2 minutes when there are television commercials. These usually occur at least three times during a game.
  • Scoring for NHL is more or less similar to turf hockey or soccer. The entire puck has to pass through the goal line which is marked in red. If half of it goes through then removed, that will not be considered as a goal. A goal can be disallowed if it’s scored just as the referee was about to blow the whistle. A goal can also be disallowed if it was either scored by a player who places it in the net with a high stick or when the attacking player scores by throwing, batting or kicking the puck into the net.
  • There are also offsides in ice hockey. These occur when the attacking player crosses the offensive line before the puck.

The Teams

The following is a list of some of the teams and the number of championships they have:

  • Toronto Maple Leafs (13)
  • Detroit Red Wings (11)
  • Montreal Canadiens (24)
  • Chicago Blackhawks (6)